Help Your Community, Adopt a Cat!

Piper: a stray kitten that we now call family.
Piper: a stray kitten that we now call family.

There are approximately 10.2 million owned cats in Canada. One could only estimate the amount of homeless cats out there, and that would be very difficult. There are many shelters, SPCAs, humane societies, rescues, and other groups and individuals trying to help with this overpopulation problem. However one person or even a group of people, can only do so much with the amount of effort, time, and money needed to fix this problem. A report (Cat Over Population) done by the Canadian Federation of Humane Societies (CFHS) states, “There is no one person, or group responsible for this problem. It is truly a community problem that requires a community effort to resolve.” (Canadian Federation of Humane Societies, 2012).As part of a community, with many stray cats, I am trying to let others be aware of this issue as much as I have become. I want to let you know how you can contribute to getting this issue under control, and to help this species of animal in general.

First, let me tell you a little about myself. My name Is Kristin McGillivray. I am currently attending Sheridan College in Ontario, and I am a cat lover. I live in a country area, and have been feeding, finding homes, and taking in homeless cats in my neighbourhood for many years now. There is just something about making a difference to an animal’s life that calls to me. I have started this blog to share news and awareness of various issues, and products that can help benefit you as a cat owner and benefit your cats. I always encourage cat adoption, and I am very supportive of getting your cats sterilized.

I know bringing your cat to the vet can be expensive, but it is in their best interest I promise you that. I ask all cat owners to please spay or neuter your cat(s). Even if your cat is kept inside, getting them sterilized benefits them. If your cat is allowed to roam free then I encourage you even more to please go get your cat fixed. There are many clinics that understand and that have reduced costs for sterilizations. The SPCA has low cost spay and neuter clinics in various locations, that also provide vaccinations, and chip IDs. If your cat is allowed outdoors, an ID is very important to make sure your feline friend always returns home.

Other than sterilizing your cat to keep the overpopulation from worsening, you can help by adopting from one of the many shelters throughout Canada. I have posted a couple links below to help lead you in the right direction. And remember, kittens may be cute, but adult and senior cats are in more need of homes. If you aren’t a cat person, or it’s just not the right time for you, you can still help out by donating, fostering, and by passing along the message. Please be aware that this overpopulation crisis won’t get any better without the help and support of every community. That includes you.

http://www.ontariospca.ca/

http://pets.petsmart.com/adoptions/?_ga=1.98006815.1818230806.1423846600

References

Canadian Federation of Humane Societies. (2012). A Comprehensive Report on the Cat Overpopulation Crisis.

Leave a Reply

